1.1 - Architecture Overview

The Apache Directory Server (aka ApacheDS) architecture has many different layers. The following schema expose the most important ones :

ApacheDS architecture

As we can see, we distinguish four different layers :

  • the network
  • the Session
  • the PartitionNexus
  • the Backends

We will describe in detail those layers in the following chapters.